Contemporary, Early 20th Century, Gallery Updates, Landscapes, Lithograph, Prints

Charles Burchfield on Nature

Summer Benediction. Charles E. Burchfield. Published by The Print Club of Cleveland. Lithograph, 1953. Image size 12 x 9" (304 x 229 mm). Edition 260. Signed in pencil.

Summer Benediction. Charles E. Burchfield. Published by The Print Club of Cleveland. Lithograph, 1953. Image size 12 x 9″ (304 x 229 mm). Edition 260. Signed in pencil.

“Well, I think that if this world lasts for a million years or two million years, or more, that never can you exhaust the subject matter of humanity or nature. It’s simply inexhaustible. I feel abut my own work, for example, my interest is more in nature now than in man-made things; I don’t know how much time I’ve got left, but I’d like to have at least another lifetime like I’ve had to say what I want to say about nature. I just don’t think I can ever get it said. There just isn’t time.”- Charles Burchfield (1893-1967)

We are in the last week of our exhibit Resonant Terrain. Stop by the gallery today or tomorrow to see this show of landscape-themed prints (including this particular Burchfield lithograph) before it comes down.

Quote from Oral history interview with Charles Burchfield, 1959 August 19, Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution. Read the whole interview here.

Standard

Leave a Reply

